Sewing stuff.

November 29, 2014 § 4 Comments

 

I’ve had these Hincapie socks for seven years and they’ve only now just torn a bit at the heel. The expensive-gear-is-worth-it-because-it-lasts-longer lesson is one that took me a long time to learn, and these socks were a big part of. Warm, quick dry, sturdy… If I had to marry a pair of socks, I’d totally pick you to marry Hincapie socks.

 

2014-11-28 15.23.14

Essentials: Sewing kit, tea, things to sew

Lesson two to buying expensive gear is of course that if you’re kind of a space cadet and lose things like I do, you’re out a bunch of money. I’ve been scouring the internet for an affordable ski coat replacement and finally found one last week … with no thumbholes. Fortunately thumbholes are a lot like buttonholes, and there are British men on the internet that are very good at teaching one how to sew buttonholes. (But like, seriously, this guy is a sewing wizard, right?)

2014-11-28 15.25.18

The stitching is kind of shitty but it’s functional.

2014-11-28 15.25.08

 

Just need some ski goggle defogger and I’ll be fully ready for ski season … SO STOKED!

*

In other unrelated news, I went for a run today and had to poop almost the entire time. How do long distance runners deal with this? Do they just stop and poop? Your body is like “hey, I know it’s 32 degrees out and you just got dressed and amped to go for a run, but uhhh once you started hopping up and down..I realized I kinda need to go back and poop.” This must be what having little kids on long car rides is like.

 

Tagged: ,

§ 4 Responses to Sewing stuff.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Sewing stuff. at An Amateur Outside.

meta

