The Water Gap

July 8, 2013 § Leave a comment

The Delaware Water Gap is the 10th most visited national park in the country. It’s an oasis of wild in a coast of development, a real respite from the hum and the buzz and the humanness of the northeast. If New Jersey were LA County, the Water Gap would be the Malibu hills.

Now we trekked up with a group of 100 people so much of the weekend was as ruckus..

water gap
On big outings like this, I always get that kind in a candy store feeling. I’m a chronic extrovert with no self control, everything seems totally awesome!

When I could tear myself away, I spent my time circling the lake in a kayak, snacking on blackberries and blueberries, sneaking up on animals.

tiny frogTiny frog!

turtle
Big turtle!

On the last day, a pair of Carolina wolf spiders snuck up on me in one of the kayaks. I didn’t snap a photo, because you know, these guys were fucking giant and terrifying.

kayaks water gap

When I first read A Walk in the Woods by Bill Bryson, I thought “this all sounds terrible – all the landscape is the same! why come all the trees…?” After a few trips to the Water Gap, I may be a long distance hiking convert after all. There’s FOOD, INSIDE the forest, after all.

Tagged: , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading The Water Gap at An Amateur Outside.

meta

