Anticipating Adventures

March 26, 2013 § 1 Comment

Since graduating from college I’ve consistently had at least two countdown timers on my computer desktop, clocking the days until my next big trip. The two countdowns I’ve got going at the moment:

July: Bike trip from D.C. to Shenandoah – bikes, hikes, beer, and BACON!
December: Yearly migration to Colorado to shore up some gnar points and shred some pow-pow.

countdown

Immediately after trips, I reset my timer for the next one. It always seemed like it was a little masochistic and a little “not living in the moment,” pining after a thing that is at times a full year away, but as it turns out, I’ve actually been accidentally maximizing my happiness this whole time!

“When booking your next holiday, you might want to schedule it several months into the future—according to a new study, we’re happiest when we’re anticipating vacation…not actually on it.” – Newser, 2010

I’ve been contemplating the idea of Microadventures after reading Alex’s post last month, and it seems like the idea fits neatly into the results of this study: more micro-adventures for more anticipation-related-happiness. After spending some time poking around the New Jersey state parks website (and discovering an alarmingly few number of ‘winter’ campgrounds that are open), I’ve decided to make it a trip and bike over to Allaire State Park this weekend.

I’ll let you know how it goes!

Tagged: , , ,

§ One Response to Anticipating Adventures

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Anticipating Adventures at An Amateur Outside.

meta

