Day 3 to Bundles of push-ups

February 15, 2013 § 3 Comments

When I was 11 and taking Tae Kwon Do classes, I could keep up with the best of the boys when it came to strength training. Knuckle push-ups? Bring it. Finger push-ups? All day errday. Pull ups? Bitch please.

As my friend Ben said today, “damn [your] 11 year old strength to bodymass ratio!” I grew a foot, gained thirty pounds, and basically kept the same arms I had at 11 and for the better part of my twenties so far, couldn’t do a push-up with good form for the life of me. At some point last fall, I decided that this was ridiculous and started to use the the HundredPushups website and rep/set/rest recommendations with knee push-ups. By the beginning of January, I could do a real live actual push-up!

It maybe should have felt awesome, but mostly it was relieving to know that:
1) my arms weren’t actually broken, and
2) that managing reps/sets works.

Given my reoccurring twisted ankle, I decided to pick up the project again and learn how to do more push-ups. Maybe like, some or a handful. A bunch if I’m feeling ambitious!

Here’s how it works: You do as many push-ups as you can (I could do four). Based on this, the app tells you how many reps and sets you should do each day. You start the work out, it tells you how many to do, times your rest period for you, and the buzzes when it’s time for the next set. You can also set reminders in your calender for your next work-out. Simple, elegant, and effective. Here are some screenshots:

2013-02-14 12.58.33

2013-02-14 12.51.59

2013-02-14 12.58.30

I’ll let you know when I hit the benchmark of being able to do bundles of push-ups.

Tagged: , ,

§ 3 Responses to Day 3 to Bundles of push-ups

  • James Price says:

    I considered using the website but I just don’t stick to it very well. I started doing pushups for a minute every day, that way I can tell myself, well, it’s only a minute. I’m up to about 70 after a month and a half so pretty darn good as far as I’m concerned. Good luck in your quest!

    • facepalmword says:

      That seems way easier, but somehow less motivating. Too simple perhaps? Having sets with timers and buzzers makes me feel like it’s an official quest with very specific requirements – makes the goal have a little more gravitas.

      Aren’t brains weird?

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Day 3 to Bundles of push-ups at An Amateur Outside.

meta

