Back San Diego

January 4, 2013 § Leave a comment

I was back in San Diego for the last week of December and had to take full advantage of the weather and gorgeous outdoor playground that characterizes so much of the city (giant suburb). I think I must be getting older and less adventurous and/or significantly more sentimental as I decided to go back to two old favorites, Torrey Pines State Reserve (800 feet, 8 miles) and the Penasquitos Canyon (four miles, virtually no elevation gain).

We got later starts both days with the lovely sun beaming down, dry and hot on the skin. I took off my Vibrams and wandered around barefoot, wondering at how lucky I was to have had year round access to so much awesomeness and cursing all the people still do.

One thing I forgot about was just how big of a temperature shift happens once the sun starts to set when you’re in a desert. I tried to cheat winter a little longer as I stretched towards the sun and skirted the trail to avoid the cold patches of shade, but eventually had to give up the barefoot-tank-top summer in December fantasyland and put my (light) jacket and (barely) shoes back on. Even in paradise, you can’t have everything I guess.

Los Penasquitos Canyon

Los Penasquitos Canyon
pensaquitos canyon

Torrey Pines State Reserve


Vibrams Torrey Pines State Reserve  Torrey Pines State Reserve

Torrey Pines State Reserve

 

Tagged: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Back San Diego at An Amateur Outside.

meta

