midnight run in Princeton

October 3, 2012 § Leave a comment

Image

I’m swinging pointed toes first, treading steps one after another over mats of wet leaves from a fresh rain.  There’s a warm fog, heavy over the tops of trees, dense in sight, there at least, where street lamps cast a yellow glow, particles and rays eventually dissipating through space.

A hop and a skip over small puddles, the white slick paint of the pedestrian walkway, a curb .. Fist pumping.

It’s warm, the air heavy, and the low dulled light makes the world seem as big as the ten steps in front of me. I look up and am reminded of the vastness of the night as the western sky glows eerily in a dark red even at midnight. A reminder of a place I once loved, gloating and reveling in the day. Cicadas and crickets, even they seem to echo only as far as the misty treetops.

..and this is crazy, so here’s my number, call me maybe…

I pull my earbuds out and am pretty sure that I’m in the jungle.

Tagged: ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading midnight run in Princeton at An Amateur Outside.

meta

